Methuen's Meeting House Hill Cemetery Map and Index Online!
Methuen's Meeting House Hill Cemetery
Saturday, October 9
Open from 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Located across the street from Holy Family/Steward Hospital
The Methuen Historical Society will be opening the gates to our historic Meeting House Hill Cemetery, located across the street from Holy Family/Steward Hospital. Come and explore the newly repaired and cleaned stones. The cemetery is normally locked so don’t miss this opportunity! This beautiful burying ground, shaded by mature pine trees, walled by Edward Searles’ stone walls, features a granite mausoleum and is filled with intriguing gravestones of our town’s founders. The headstones, some of the oldest in Methuen, were hand-carved by the likes of Benjamin Day and Robert Mulliken.
The work of cleaning, stabilizing, and restoring the headstones was completed by Epoch Preservation and Methuen Historical Society volunteers. This project was funded by a generous grant from the Methuen Festival of Trees. The Methuen Historical Society’s Education Committee will display posters on Methuen’s American Revolution-era houses and the patriots buried at Meeting House Hill cemetery.
Although this is an outdoor event, please wear a mask and practice social distancing when visiting the cemetery. Bring your questions and enjoy the day!
Detail of stone carving on 18th-century headstone at Meeting House Hill cemetery.
Explore Meeting House Hill Cemetery online!
Meeting House Hill Cemetery is located on a 2.4-acre rectangular parcel of land bound by East, Arlington, Brook, and Berkeley Streets. It was the site of the first Methuen meeting house (built in 1728) and is the only surviving major element of the original town center location. Many of the city’s founding members and their families are buried here. The cemetery was added to the National Register of Historic Sites in 1984.
In 2019, a group of volunteers led by Bev Brown of the Methuen Historical Society took on the task of creating an inventory and compiling an up-to-date index of the burial site. Refering to the book, Ye Catalog of Epitaphs from Ye Old Burying Ground on Meeting House Hill, published in 1893 by the Methuen Historical Society, the group of volunteers created this detailed map indicating grave locations. In addition to the inventory, the group cleaned existing stones and identified damaged stones for restoration and stabilization.
We are thankful for the financial support from the Methuen Festival of Trees, Inc. We are grateful to the following volunteers whose hard work, enthusiasm, and dedication made this project a success: Earlene Daigeneault, Paul Daigneault, Carol DeLano, Janice Fugge, Gary Marcoux, Nancy Marcoux, Ken Peck, Chris Reardon, Nancy Reardon, Deb Rovinski, Richard Smith, Jodi Smith, Cheryl Torres, James Torres, Tim Torres, Patricia Vaillani, Andrea Vannett, Tim Vermette, Kristen Westaway, and George Wolfendon.
Click on the map to view a pdf of the cemetery map and index.
Click on the image above to view a digital copy of the book of epitaphs.
Photo by Amanda Sagba | Eagle-Tribune
The headstone of Reverend Christopher Sergeant, the first minister of the Meetinghouse, is among the hundreds of gravesites documented by volunteers of the Methuen Historical Society.
Graphic design by John Hadley
Many thanks to the Eagle-Tribune for featuring a story about our cemetery project on the front page of the July 24, 2019 edition. A big THANK YOU to Bev Brown and her team of dedicated volunteers!
Check out the story, History Detectives: Group Visits Cemeteries, Pieces Together Methuen's Past.